boy swim sewing pattern round up
Brindille and Twig Bummies in Swim

Hi Everyone,
I’m Liesel and mama to two boys and I big heart sewing for them.

I’m here to help you try and navigate the seas of boys swim pattern options. There are so many and it’s very overwhelming. I had help from the sewing community in compiling this list. I have not tried every pattern listed, nor do I own every pattern. It is not all inclusive but does include the basics to get you going. I know you’ll find something you love for those boys to have the perfect summer swim wear.

Swim bottom patterns designed for boardshort fabric. These are more traditional swim trunk style patterns.

Company Name Link Attribution
5 out of 4 Kids Swim Trunks https://5outof4.com/product/kids-swim-trunks/?affiliates=298&fbclid=IwAR3dqRw9vLTs0zcug6n-J9QSzAYdVcXvYvYMf5egGLV1tSvUownkJT4dALY Trissa Scott Bouwhuis
Ellie and Mac High Tide https://www.ellieandmac.com/products/boys-high-tide-boardshorts-swim-brief-pattern Liesel Tavenner
Lowland Kids Swim Boardies https://lowlandkids.com/products/swim-boardies Amber Guillot
Suco by Susanna Manuel Swim Shorts https://www.sucobysusana.com/collections/meninos-boys/products/manuel-swim-shorts-pdf-pattern-english?fbclid=IwAR1pJpZGE3DJZgLGf5UJflIEISLM7maxocYAqNEW8DW03H8yfqzv7m9BIbo  
Lowland Kids Swim Boardies
5oo4 Kids Swim Trunks
Ellie and Mac High Tide

Swim bottom patterns designed for swim fabric. These are swim shorts or brief style patterns.

Company Name Link Attribution
Sew Like My Mom Palm Euro Suit https://sewlikemymom.com/boys-patterns/palm-euro-suit-12m-8/ Liesel Tavenner
Peek a Boo Pattern Shop Monaco Swim Trunks https://www.peekaboopatternshop.com/monaco-swim-trunks/ Stacey Bebb https://www.facebook.com/groups/1662837587354077
Peek a Boo Monaco Swim Shorts and Hang Ten Rash Guard
Sew Like My Mom Palm Euro

Shirts designed for swim fabric.

Company Name Link Attribution
Made by Jacks Mum Beach Rashie https://madebyjacksmum.com/shop/reef-beach-rashie/ Kelly DeLashmit Simonsen
Peek a Boo Pattern Shop Hang Ten Rash Guard https://www.peekaboopatternshop.com/hang-ten-rash-guard/ Stacey Bebb https://www.facebook.com/groups/1662837587354077
Made by Jacks Mum Beach Reef Rashie and Sandcastle Hat

All over suits designed for swim fabric (or hacked to use swim fabric). Great for sun protection.

Company Name Link Attribution
Made by Jacks Mum Sunshine Swim Romper https://madebyjacksmum.com/shop/sunshine-swim-romper/ Kelly DeLashmit Simonsen
Peek a Boo Pattern Shop Aloha Burn Blocker https://www.peekaboopatternshop.com/aloha-burn-blocker-suit/ Stacey Bebb https://www.facebook.com/groups/1662837587354077
Brindille and Twig Rolled Hem Romper Hack https://brindilletwig.com/products/rolled-hem-romper-089 Liesel Tavenner
Peek a Boo Aloha Burn Blocker
Brindille and Twig Rolled Hem Romper Swim Hack

Here’s a list of patterns that can be hacked into swim wear either by using boardshort fabric or swim fabric.

Pattern Link
Tops with Swim Fabric  
Petite Stichery Ragtag Raglan https://petitestitchery.com/shop/boys-ragtag-raglan-tee/
Duck Butt Designs Essential Raglan http://www.duckbuttdesigns.com/product/essential-raglan
Bottoms with Swim fabric  
Violette Threads Pippa https://violettefieldthreads.com/products/pippa-swimsuit
Brindille and Twig Bummies https://brindilletwig.com/collections/free/products/bummies-119
Bottoms with Boarshort Fabric  
Misusu Ollie Shorts https://www.misusu.co/products/summer-olli-shorts-pants-pdf-sewing-pattern
Rabbit Rabbit Rabbit Endless Bucket Shorts https://www.etsy.com/fr/listing/211495956/endless-summer-bucket-shorts-boys-pocket?ref=shop_home_active_3
New Horizons Alpine Shorts https://newhorizonsdesigns.com/product/alpine-shorts-and-trousers/
Duck Butt Designs Treasure Pocket Shorts http://www.duckbuttdesigns.com/product/treasure-pocket-shorts
Petite Stitchery Ragtag Raglan

I hope you found this round up useful. I know I’m inspired by all these great makes. Special thank you to Stacey Bebb from Lollipop Garden, Amber Guillot from Thicket Threads, Kelly DeLashmit Simonsen, and Trissa Scott Bouwhuis for sharing their lovely pictures with us.

Some links are affiliate links which means I could get compensated at no cost to you. The thoughts are my own.

a Rafflecopter giveaway